Falafel Salad

So I decided to make falafels since I had the extra time. I came across a really good recipe on Feasting at Home that I made minor tweaks to.

image-7

My Falafel Recipe (almost identical to the one on Feasting at Home although I added more onion and garlic. Also, I added some parsley and chill powder instead of fresh chili)

  • 500g dried chickpeas, soaked overnight
  • 1 bunch fresh coreander
  • 1/2 bunch fresh parsley (next time I think I’ll use the whole bunch)
  • 1 large white onion
  • 3 garlic cloves
  • 1/2 Tb chili powder
  • 1 Tb coreander powder
  • 1 Tb cumin
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • salt & pepper

“Tzaziki” style sauce

  • greek yoghurt
  • garlic clove
  • cucumber
  • lemon juice
  • olive oil
  • salt & pepper

I soaked the chickpeas overnight, and then pulsed them in a blender. My blender is small so I couldn’t fit all the ingredients at the same time. Instead, I pulsed everything separately. This is what the mixture looked like once everything was combined (it didn’t turn out as green as in the Feasting at Home recipe):

image-2

image-3

Cover with cling film and place in fridge for 20-30min.

Once it has rested, form 3-4cm balls. The mixture wasn’t dry, but since I didn’t add any binding agent such as egg, the falafels fell apart quite easily. I placed the falafels on plates and put them outside (-15C) to firm up.

I started heating up a fair amount of sunflower oil on low – medium heat. Once up to temperature, place falafels in oil. It was only after I had fried all of them that I realized I should have added more oil – at least half way up the falafels. I fried them for about 10min per side. I found it was easiest to turn them using a fork and a spatula.

image-5.1

The finished product:

image-6

I decided to have the falafels with a salad this time. Next time I’ll probably have them wrapped in pita bread and add a few more sauces (maybe a lemony tahini sauce and a spicy little chill sauce). Today I made a simple tzaziki-type sauce and added some greek chilies.

image-7

Leave a Reply

